What is Dynamic Facilitation?

Dynamic Facilitation (DF) is a facilitation method that supports small and medium-sized groups (up to about 50 people) to arrive at solutions that are often unexpected, amazingly creative or particularly sustainable and of transformative power for all participants. Even out of seemingly unsolvable problems or conflicts, completely new paths can emerge.

The Dynamic Facilitation facilitator achieves this by creating a space of unconditional safety and appreciation for each participant. Through an attitude of deep interest in everything that wants to be expressed and extremely focused listening, he or she inspires the whole group to listen attentively, enables the speakers to explore more deeply as they speak, and thereby awakens the wealth of possibilities that lie hidden in the group.

Concerns, resistance, and strong feelings, which are otherwise often perceived as disturbing in group processes, are valuable and welcome here. They often prove to be decisive impulses for a sustainable solution.

In addition to the facilitator’s approachable attitude, DF formally requires a simple and clear setting. This essentially consists of four topic headings under which all the contributions of the participants are recorded. This makes the process of the group comprehensible and turns it into a common story and thus into a further source of insight and growth.

Dynamic Facilitation enables:

  • Breakthroughs in the form of new solutions, new questions more community, self-efficacy.
  • Finding the “real right & important” questions
  • Consensus and team building
  • Conflict resolution
  • Spurts of creativity

Was ist Dynamic Facilitation?

Dynamic Facilitation (DF) ist eine Moderationsmethode, die kleine und mittelgroße Gruppen (bis ca. 50 Personen) unterstützt, zu Lösungen zu gelangen, die oft unerwartet, erstaunlich kreativ oder besonders nachhaltig und von transformativer Kraft für alle Beteiligten sind. Selbst aus unlösbar erscheinenden Problemen oder Konflikten heraus können sich völlig neue Wege ergeben.

Der bzw. die Dynamic Facilitation-Moderator:in erreicht das, indem er oder sie einen Raum der unbedingten Sicherheit und Wertschätzung für jede:n Teilnehmer:in schafft. Durch die Haltung tiefen Interesses für alles, was ausgedrückt werden möchte, sowie des sehr fokussierten Zuhörens inspiriert er bzw. sie die ganze Gruppe zum zugewandten Zuhören, ermöglicht den jeweils Sprechenden, beim Sprechen auch tiefer in sich zu forschen, und weckt dadurch die Fülle an Möglichkeiten, die in der Gruppe verborgen liegen.

Bedenken, Widerstände, heftige Gefühle, die in Gruppenprozessen sonst oft als störend empfunden werden, sind hier wertvoll und willkommen. Häufig erweisen gerade sie sich als entscheidende Impulse für eine tragfähige Lösung.

Neben der zugewandten Haltung der Moderation, braucht es bei DF formell ein einfaches und klares Setting. Dieses besteht im Wesentlichen aus vier Flipcharts, unter denen alle Beiträge der Teilnehmer:innen festgehalten werden. Das lässt den Prozess der Gruppe nachvollziehbar und zu einer gemeinsamen Geschichte werden und somit zu einer weiteren Quelle für Erkenntnis und Wachstum.

Dynamic Facilitation ermöglicht:

  • Durchbrüche in Form von neuen Lösungen, neuen Fragen mehr Gemeinschaft, Selbstwirksamkeit
  • das Finden der „eigentlich richtigen & wichtigen“ Fragen
  • Konsens- und Teambildung
  • Konfliktlösung
  • kreative Schübe